The Raga System

Essay specific features



Music and Movies


Written by:

Brandon J


Date added:

January 13, 2013








No of pages / words:

4 / 937


Was viewed:

3367 times


Rating of current essay:

Essay content:

A thaat is the ascending scale from which a raga is created. The ten thaats are: Kalyan, Bilawal, Khamaj, Bhairav, Poorvi, Maarva, Kafi, Asawari, Bhairavi and Todi. A thaat is named after the most prominent raga created from it. Ragas are also classified by the number of notes used in their ascent and descent...
displayed 300 characters

Custom written essay

All essays are written from scratch by professional writers according to your instructions and delivered to your email on time. Prices start from $11.99/page

Order custom paper

Full essays database

You get access to all the essays and can view as many of them as you like for as little as $28.95/month

Buy database access

Order custom writing paper now!

  • Your research paper is written
    by certified writers
  • Your requirements and targets are
    always met
  • You are able to control the progress
    of your writing assignment
  • You get a chance to become an
    excellent student!

Get a price guote


Ragas are also classified by the number of notes used in their ascent and descent. Two ragas written from the same thaat will comprise the same notes, however, the possibilities of development are limitless. Thus, each raga is a unique expression of an artist's mind. In creating a raga, a musician must adhere to several guidelines, and must have an understanding of the essential elements or lakshans which comprise a raga...
displayed next 300 characters

General issues of this essay:

Related essays: